Japan Lover

Catullo said it better

Posted on: 2 August 2009

Back from an awesome weekend at Lake Garda.

Feeling so happy and full and satisfied.

Gotta write M. (yesterday we got back in Milan that it was almost midnight…) and I will after updating the blogs.

I am already thinkin what I should bring in Japan. We will stay at Hilton in Shinjuku, it’s a good position and I just CAN’T WAIT.

I was thinkin about writing what it was for me this past weekend but I realize that the best I could say has already been said centuries ago by mighty Latin poet Catullo, in his 31th carmina.

So there you go, enjoy it 🙂 (in this link there is the Ancient Latin original with the Wiki translation: I actually prefer my own version of the translation, less literal and more poetically arranged. Make your choice about the two ;))

Sirmio (31carmina)

Sirmio, jewel of islands, jewel of peninsulas,

jewel of whatever is set in the bright waters

or the great sea, or either ocean,

with what joy, what pleasure I gaze at you,

scarcely believing myself free of Thynia

and the Bithynian fields, seeing you in safety.

O what freedom from care is more joyful

than when the mind lays down its burden,

and weary, back home from foreign toil,

we rest in the bed we longed for?

This one moment’s worth all the labour.

Hail, O lovely Sirmio, and rejoice as I rejoice,

and you, O lake of Lydian waters, laugh

with whatever of laughter lives here.

It seems like lakes have conquered also *somebody*.

Divine Prince Adam allegedly bows at Geneva Lake graceful panorama and even twitpics about it (now I have the evidence for my previous guess… I SO hope that by the time I’m back from Japan they might still there…), while James has developed sort of an anger towards Swiss kids playing tennis against him (;) aww :)).

Indeed lakes have a sort of powerful charm.

In Japan we will try Biwako (Biwa Lake) cos I will get to see the house of the greatest epic poet in Japan history. A FEMALE. 😉

Again.. can’t wait.

Luv everybody.

Leave a Reply

ZairaAmaterasuIcon

Who I am

5'9'', Size 2 madhead in love with life, crushing over Japan, Music, and Kobe Bean Bryant.

Zaira Amaterasu’s Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,561 other followers

TwitVideo ZairaAmaterasu

Slideshow M5 Miss Z

CollageNov09_01

BIGAdam

BandTot_sw

BandHighed

90908X6

AdPinky

NBA Finals Magic Lakers Basketball

Adam_whitestanding

Adam_WhiteSinger

Adam_icon

More Photos

RSS Plixi Zaira (more pics)

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Zaira Amaterasu Tumblr

RSS Zaira Amaterasu Tumblr

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Lakers & Kobe Love

ZairaAmaterasu

Più cliccati

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 184,230 hits
